August 23, 2017 - 09:00 am

Webinar: Regulating your Employees’ Political Speech and Political Activity — The Tough Challenges Employers Face Today

August 23, 2017

12:00pm – 1:30pm PDT
2:00pm – 3:30pm CDT
3:00pm – 4:30pm EDT
REGISTER HERE

Uber, Facebook and Google have all recently been the subject of intense media coverage over their employees’ political activism and beliefs.   Whether that conduct involves supporting a Presidential candidate who isn’t “favored” by most of the workforce or issuing a manifesto that many co-workers perceive creates a hostile environment or engaging in a controversial protest march, most employers simply don’t know if and how they should address these issues.  Depending upon the response, an employer can create morale issues, legal disputes and tarnish its brand in the marketplace.

This webinar will address:

  • the importance of getting your executive team and board aligned on its corporate philosophy with respect to regulating this activity.
  • the impact of federal and state law on an employer’s ability to hold employees accountable for on and off-duty behavior.
  • an overview of the different types of scenarios that a company is likely to face.
  • recommendations for a code of conduct that accurately reflects your company’s values, complies with applicable law, and is capable of being appropriately adhered to and, if necessary, enforced.

Presented by:  Stephen J. Hirschfeld and John F. Baum

Venue: